New Hampshire’s Party Host Liability Law

Posted Nov 18, 2016

New Hampshire’s
Party Host Liability Law
Most underage drinkers get their alcohol from adults. In 2004 the NH Legislature passed a law (RSA 644:18) to hold “hosts” of parties responsible for the actions of underage participants. This law can be applied to any adult.
Under this law
Host means a person who:
?is at least 17 years old;
?owns, rents, or has control of the site;
?knows about the party; and
?knows that persons under the age of 21 have a plan to drink alcohol or use drugs;
Party means:
?Five or more people under the age of 21 (not related to the host) are present; and
?At least one person under the age of 21 has an alcoholic drink or an illegal drug.
What can happen to “hosts”?
Under this law, a person who hosts a party where minors drink alcohol or use drugs may be charged with a misdemeanor, fined up to $2,000 and spend a year in jail.
Law enforcement in NH takes underage drinking seriously. YOU can be part of the solution.
If you have information about area gatherings where youth have access to alcohol, make the call—
DIAL 2-1-1 and make an anonymous report.
A call to Project Monitor Under 21 will prevent a harmful situation from happening
before it occurs, and just may save a call to 9-1-1.
For more information about preventing underage drinking, click on the link for the Task Force at:
www.franklinnh.org


User Submitted Comments:

There have not yet been any user submitted comments for this Blog.

Leave a Comment:
Please enter information below to post:


Copyright© 2017 Lakes Region Partnership for Public Health and Mainstay Technologies, LLC. All rights reserved.
755,973 total page reads.  Page rendered in 0.0033(s)